Quote: To Be a Mother…

You know I can quote the entire Villette book, right?

but this one…you gotta see this one.

This is a part of a paragraph where Lucy describes the letters she received from Genivra Fanshawe in the years following the latter’s elopement. Lucy got this letter after Ginevra’s son was born.

I didn’t know ‘what it was to be a mother;’ ‘unfeeling thing that I was, the sensibilities of the maternal heart were Greek and Hebrew to me’ and so on.

Now this hurt.

Lucy is a hundred times the woman Ginvera will never be. How could Ginvera strip Lucy of her right to even be interested in the topic of children just because she deemed her ‘unfeeling’?!

she’s a sensible woman, you airhead!

Well, let me tell you, Ginevras of the world: you are the ones who are insensitive.

For example, I know for a fact that I will end up alone, but that doesn’t mean that I don’t long to be a mother every day of my life.

stop judging people. please.

 

 

