My 10 Favorite 2015 Reads

Hi 🙂

Choosing to ignore the fact that the world almost fell apart in 2015, and too wary of the future to write a New Year’s Resolutions post; I’m doing a Favorite Books post instead 🙂

Without further ado,

My favorite reads in 2015:

  1. Business/ entrepreneurship

Elon Musk: Inventing the Future – by Ashlee Vance

Elon Musk Inventing the Future

I am in love with his mind. You can check out the post I published about this book here.

2. Psychology

The Bell Jar – by Sylvia Plath

Sylvia Plath Th Bell Jar

Months after finishing this book, it still haunts me. It explores Esther Greenwood’s thoughts as she falls into the grips of madness…can you imagine reading someone’s mind while they’re fighting mental illness? deeply captivating.

3. Science Fiction

The Martian – by Andy Weir

the martian andy weir

Until I read this one, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy was my all-time-favorite science fiction book. But the Martian blew me away. Check out the post about it here.

4. عربي

ملحمة الحرافيش – نجيب محفوظ

harafeesh naguib mahfouz

و هل هناك أجمل أو أبلغ من العربية؟

.نجيب لديه قدرة لغوية هائلة. وقعت في حب أسلوبه  من أول فصل. لن تكون آخر تجربة

5. Fantasy

The Hobbit – by  J.R.R. Tolkien

the hobbit tolkien

I read this one while being snowed in last winter, it was perfect, I completely lost track of time. Wrote a post about this one too…find it here.

6. Chick-Lit

Where’d You Go, Bernadette – by Maria Semple

where'd you go bernadette maria smple

I do enjoy chick-lit every once in a while. But I find it very difficult to find decent contemporary chick-lit. This one is terribly cute and funny 🙂 absolutely worth your time. I published a post about it recently.

7. Classic

Villette – by Charlotte Brontë

villette charlotte bronte

You saw this coming. As if I could make a favorite books post and not include Villette! I reread it this year, just like I’ve done every year since I discovered it. And it still pulls me in like a moth to a flame, every single time.

Many people do not like this novel, hate it, even. But that is because Lucy is a very complex character, so incredibly different from Jane Eyre…and I think they struggle to understand her.

8. Drama

A Thousand Splendid Suns-by Khaled Hosseini

a thousand splendid suns khaled hosseini
Also a reread. The most heartbreaking adult drama and high on top of my all-time-favorites list. I believe that it’s Hosseini’s best work. It tells the story of Mariam and Laila, two strong Afghani women who take ‘endurance’ to whole new level.

It is better than several books that I read for the first time in 2015, and will continue to be my favorite adult drama.

9. Horror/ Thriller

IT-by Stephen King

IT stephen king

I have just finished this one. An it’s the only thriller I read in 2015, but it really is amazing. A previous post about it can be found here.

EPIC.

—–insert drumroll—–

10. Children’s Fiction/ fantasy

and last but definitely not least, this timeless masterpiece:

Harry Potter – J.K.Rowling

harry potter

Of course I reread the Harry Potter books. Also while being snowed in… I get really quiet and mopey around my birthday so Harry Potter is my go-to book in that time. To quote Alan Rickman:

When I’m 80 years old and sitting in my rocking chair, I’ll be reading Harry Potter. And my family will say to me, ‘After all this time?’ And I will say ‘Always.’

❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

That post took forever to make! My break is over, bye!

